1. What does your name mean?

A Google search tells me Carl means “a peasant or man of low birth.” Heh, maybe not the most flattering.

2. Do you have a nickname?

For the longest time, I was known on online forums and in games such as Counter-Strike as Err0r. Haven’t used nicknames for a while though.

3. Which is your favorite film?

I watch a lot of movies and enjoy the usual suspects. One movie that I really like, that probably isn’t on anyone’s favorite movie list, is Accepted. It’s about a guy that didn’t get into college, and starts a fake college to not disappoint his parents. However, the stunt becomes more and more elaborate, and eventually he has to defend it in front of a jury. Perhaps I’m a dork, but his speech can get me quite emotional.

4. Which is tour favorite book?

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch is a book that impacted me quite a bit. It’s written by a dying father to his kids, giving them guidance on how to live life. I like this quote quite a bit:

5. What song would you play if you are happy? Or sad?

I don’t feel sad that much. I’m not ashamed to admit that I listen to a fair bit of Taylor Swift no matter the mood. I also enjoy 2Pac and Notorious B.I.G.

6. If you could be a gadget, which one would you be?

The first thing that comes to mind is a Kyoto Ceramic Knife. It does one thing, but is probably the best in the world at doing it. It’s efficient, timeless and beautiful. Becoming better at focusing and prioritizing is something everyone can benefit from.

7. Which is your favorite non-OnePlus gadget?

My new 12″ Retina MacBook. People who complain about the specs just don’t get products.

8. What is your favorite dish?

I enjoy and cycle through all types of cuisines, but something universal that I hold close to heart is ice cream. Chocolate ice cream.

9. You are stuck on an island, and can keep only five gadgets. Which ones do you choose?

There’s a certain sense of beauty and freedom in having less. Five gadgets is too much. A smartphone and a power bank should be enough.

10. Being happy is…

Doing what you love and losing yourself in it.

11. Carl Pei is…

Just a guy

 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 90 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 13 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 41 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 77 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 71 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 20 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 2 Just a Guy   The Person That s Carl Pei - 38